How can I sync uTrack data between two devices?

Please note that this feature is only available on iOS currently

To sync data between two devices, you will need to create a uTrack account, take a backup of your projects and restore them on the other device. Following are the steps to sync data between two devices after enabling the Collaborate feature:

Step 1 – Setup uTrack account

  1. On the ‘Collaborate’ screen, tap on ‘Create a new Account’.
  2. Create a uTrack account by setting up your user-ID and password.
  3. Add an email that you wish to register with your uTrack account.
  4. Tap on ‘Create Account’ button.

Your uTrack account will be created. You will now be able to share/retrieve tasks with other users and backup/restore data on multiple iOS devices.

Step 2 – Backup Data

  1. On the ‘Collaborate’ screen, tap on ‘Backup data’ button.
  2. By default all projects and walls are selected (You can deselect any projects/walls that you do not want to include in your backup).
  3. Type in a unique name for your backup.
  4. Tap on ‘Create Backup’ button.

This may take a few seconds. Your data will be saved on a secure server. You can now move to the other iOS device and enable the Collaborate feature on uTrack to sync the other device’ data.

Step 3 – Restore Data

  1. On the ‘Collaborate’ screen, tap on ‘Restore Data’.
  2. On Restore screen, tap on ‘Login with existing account’.
  3. Login with the user-ID and password that you created on the previous device.
  4. Select the backup file and projects that you would like to sync on this device
  5. Tap on ‘Restore’ button and confirm your action.

This will restore all selected projects. You can create multiple backups and restore them on unlimited iOS devices. Please note that this feature overwrites any pre-existing projects that have the same name of the projects being restored. Please make sure to rename your existing projects before restoring a backup to avoid any data loss.

How can I collaborate with other uTrack users?

Please note that this feature is only available on iOS currently

To collaborate with other uTrack users, you will need to create a uTrack account, after which you will be able to share individual tasks, walls and complete projects with other uTrack users. Following are the steps to share tasks after enabling the Collaborate feature.

Step 1 – Setup uTrack account

  1. On the ‘Collaborate’ screen, tap on ‘Create a new Account’.
  2. Create a uTrack account by setting up your user-ID and password.
  3. Add an email that you wish to register with your uTrack account.
  4. Tap on ‘Create Account’ button.

Your uTrack account will be created. You will now be able to share tasks with other uTrack users.

Step 2 – Share Data

  1. On the ‘Collaborate’ screen, tap on ‘Share’ button.
  2. Select projects, walls and/or task that you would like to share. Selecting a project will automatically select all of its walls and tasks.
  3. Type in uTrack user IDs with which you want to share data or you can also share by providing email address(es).
  4. Type in a name for your shared file. The file name does not need to be unique.
  5. Tap on ‘Share’ button.

This may take a few seconds. Your data will be saved on a secure server. All recipients will receive notifications on their devices and an email containing the steps to retrieve the shared file. For data sharing you can also choose email address from your device’s contact list. A single file can be shared with multiple users at the same time.

How can I retrieve a shared file?

Please note that this feature is only available on iOS currently


  1. On the ‘Collaborate’ screen, tap on ‘Retrieve’ button.
  2. From the shared tasks list, tap on the user name whose files you want to retrieve.
  3. Select your desired file from various shared files.
  4. Tap on ‘Retrieve Tasks’ button.

This will retrieve the selected shared file onto your device. Upon retrieval, the file will be permanently removed from the shared file list.

How can I reset my uTrack account password?

Please note that this feature is only available on iOS currently


  1. Tap on info icon at the bottom right.
  2. Tap on ‘Reset Password’.
  3. Type in your uTrack user-ID or email address which is associated with your uTrack account.
  4. Tap on ‘Send Request’.

Once you will confirm the logout warning, you will receive a password assistance email. Follow the steps in the email to reset your password.

 

How can I retrieve a shared file without purchasing collaborate feature?

Please note that this feature is only available on iOS currently

It is not necessary to purchase the Collaborate add-on if you wish to retrieve tasks only. To retrieve tasks without enabling Collaborate feature, follow the steps below:

  1. Tap on the ‘Collaborate’ button.
  2. Close the in-app purchase dialogue.
  3. Tap on ‘Retrieve’ button.
  4. For security reasons, you will have to enter the email address or uTrack user-ID of the sender.
  5. Enter your email address at which tasks are being shared.
  6. Tap on ‘Next’ button.
  7. Retrieve your desired shared file.

 

How can I take a backup of my data?

Please note that this feature is only available on iOS currently

Before taking a backup of data, create your uTrack account or login with your existing account and follow the steps below:

1. On the ‘Collaborate’ screen, tap on ‘Backup data’ button.

2. By default all projects and walls are selected (you can deselect any projects/walls that you do not want to include in your backup).

3. Type in a unique name for your backup.

4. Tap on ‘Create Backup’ button.

This will create a backup file of your data on server. You will now be able to restore it on same device or any other iOS device.

How can I restore data from a backup?

Please note that this feature is only available on iOS currently

  1. Login with your uTrack user-ID and password.
  2. On the ‘Collaborate’ screen, tap on ‘Restore Data’
  3. Select the backup file and projects that you would like to restore.
  4. Tap on ‘Restore’ button and confirm your action

This will restore all selected projects on your device. Please note that this feature overwrites any pre-existing projects that have the same name of the projects being restored. Please make sure to rename your existing projects before restoring a backup to avoid any data loss.

What happens to my Data after my subscription is expired?

Please note that this feature is only available on iOS currently

Your data will remain secure, even after subscription is expired but you will not be able to access that data. After renewing your subscription you can use the same uTrack account and get access to your previous backups. In case of data retrieval, in-app purchase is not required, so you will still be able to retrieve your shared tasks after subscription is expired.